Skip to main content

"We want to set standards for human coexistence, an environment worth living in and a diverse society. This is the only way we can reconcile our growth-oriented approach with value-based, sustainable action in the long term and ensure the quality of life of future generations.

Otto Group - Annual Report 2019/20 p. 4

Focus on personal responsibility and self-organisation

Values are currently experiencing an enormous increase in importance. Particularly due to the ecological crisis and the pandemic, but also due to technological leaps and the associated increase in human capabilities. How does an organisation find a meaningful objective that ensures its success in the future, increases its attractiveness as an employer and at the same time meets the increasing social demands for sustainability as well as social and cultural responsibility in a forward-looking way?

How organisations deal with the environment and with people plays a central role not only for customers, but also for more and more applicants. If technical innovations, process innovations or service innovations are the trump cards of companies in the knowledge society, value-based organisational cultural attitudes, views and orientations internalised by employees are trump cards in today's value society.

Overall, people will increasingly act on their own responsibility and in a self-organised way. However, this requires a changed mindset, i.e. values that provide orientation for self-organised action.

Values As folders of self-organised action, they are the core of Competences

Therefore, values and value management are becoming increasingly important.

Shared values and their internalisation throughout the organisation give organisations a competitive advantage internally and externally and ensure survival.

Only values enable employees and teams to act under uncertainty, they bridge or replace missing knowledge, close the gap between knowledge on the one hand and action on the other. However, values only work if their meaningfulness is experienced in one's own actions and stored in an emotionally positive way.

Since values are the cores of Competences the development of values and competences cannot be considered separately, as is predominantly practised. Rather, values and competences are two sides of the same coin.

berufliche kompetenzen

Fig: Values and competences - two sides of the same coin (exemplary presentation of the characteristics)

Values determine attitudes, which have an impact on competences and thus on actions.

The value model

For targeted value management, it is necessary to develop a manageable value model with which the drives and folders of competent action can be identified. On the basis of values research, we have developed a practicable Value model was developed. This matrix is based on more than ten years of experience with the WERDE® value measurement system (cf. Erpenbeck, Brenninkmeijer 2007, p. 251 ff.) as well as on the items of the highly validated Klages-Gensicke Survey and the 16 Reiss motives (cf. Erpenbeck et al. 2007, p. 251 ff.; Reiss, Reiss 4th ed. 2009).

Value models are a matrix in which the motives and the folders of self-organised action can be grasped and described in a way that everyone can understand.

In our value model we have four underlyings, the value types, which are defined in total 16 Key values be subdivided:

werte liste

Fig. ValCom® value model according to Erpenbeck, Sauter and Sauter (cf. Erpenbeck, Sauter 2020)

The value model is defined for each individual value with four exemplary value expressions in each case, which are formulated specifically for the organisation in a joint process with experienced specialists and managers. The adapted value expressions form the basis for the questions for recording the values through the software.

In many organisations there are already formulated values or mission statements that are widely communicated. ValCom® makes it possible to adapt the number of values, the individual value terms, the value definitions as well as the value examples as desired, so that existing value models can be integrated without any problems.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Zum Hauptinhalt springen

„Wir wollen Maßstäbe für ein menschliches Miteinander, eine lebenswerte Umwelt und eine vielfältige Gesellschaft setzen. Denn nur so können wir unsere wachstumsorientierte Ausrichtung auch langfristig mit einem wertebasierten, nachhaltigen Handeln in Einklang bringen und die Lebensqualität nachfolgender Generationen sichern.“

Otto Group – Geschäftsbericht 2019/20 S. 4

Eigenverantwortung und Selbstorganisation im Fokus

Werte erfahren aktuell einen enormen Bedeutungszuwachs. Insbesondere auch aufgrund der ökologischen Krise und der Pandemie, aber auch technologischer Sprünge und dem damit verbundenen Zuwachs menschlicher Fähigkeiten. Wie findet eine Organisation eine sinnerfüllte Zielsetzung, die ihren Erfolg in der Zukunft sichert, ihre Attraktivität als Arbeitgeber steigert und gleichzeitig den zunehmenden gesellschaftlichen Anforderungen an Nachhaltigkeit sowie sozialer und kultureller Verantwortung zukunftsweisend gerecht wird?

Wie Organisationen mit der Umwelt und mit Menschen umgehen, spielt nicht nur für Kunden, sondern auch für immer mehr Bewerber eine zentrale Rolle. Sind technische Innovationen, Prozessinnovationen oder Dienstleistungsinnovationen Trümpfe der Unternehmen in der Wissensgesellschaft, so sind wertehaltige, von den Mitarbeitern verinnerlichte organisationskulturelle Haltungen, Anschauungen und Orientierungen Trümpfe in der heutigen Wertegesellschaft.

Insgesamt werden die Menschen zunehmend eigenverantwortlich und selbstorganisiert agieren. Dies erfordert jedoch einen veränderten Mindset, also Werte, die Orientierung für selbstorganisiertes Handeln geben.

Werte sind als Ordner selbstorganisierten Handelns Kerne von Kompetenzen

Deshalb kommt den Werten und dem Wertemanagement eine immer größere Bedeutung zu.

Gemeinsame Werte und deren organisationsweite Verinnerlichung verschaffen Organisationen nach innen und außen einen Wettbewerbsvorteil und sichern das Überleben.

Erst Werte ermöglichen Mitarbeitenden und Teams ein Handeln unter Unsicherheit, sie überbrücken oder ersetzen fehlendes Wissen, schließen die Lücke zwischen Wissen einerseits und dem Handeln andererseits. Allerdings wirken Werte nur, wenn ihre Sinnhaftigkeit im eigenen Handeln erlebt und emotional positiv gespeichert wird.

Da Werte die Kerne von Kompetenzen bilden, kann die Entwicklung von Werten und Kompetenzen nicht, wie überwiegend praktiziert, getrennt betrachtet werden. Vielmehr bilden Werte und Kompetenzen zwei Seiten einer Medaille.

berufliche kompetenzen

Abb.: Werte und Kompetenzen – zwei Seiten einer Medaille (beispielhafte Darstellung der Ausprägungen)

Werte bestimmen die Haltung, die sich auf die Kompetenzen und damit die Handlungen auswirken.

Das Wertemodell

Für das gezielte Wertemanagement ist es nötig, ein überschaubares Wertemodell zu entwickeln, mit dem die Antriebe und Ordner des kompetenten Handelns identifiziert werden können. Auf Basis der Werteforschung haben wir ein praktikables Wertemodell entwickelt. Diese Matrix basiert auf der über zehnjährigen Erfahrung mit dem Wertemess-System WERDE® (vgl. Erpenbeck, Brenninkmeijer 2007, S. 251 ff.) sowie auf den Items des hoch validierten Klages-Gensicke-Survey und der 16 Reiss – Motive (vgl. Erpenbeck u. a.  2007, S. 251 ff.; Reiss, Reiss 4. Aufl. 2009).

Wertemodelle sind eine Matrix, in der die Motive und die Ordner selbstorganisierten Handelns erfassbar und für jeden verständlich beschrieben sind.

In unserem Wertemodell haben wir vier Basiswerte, die Wertearten, definiert, die in insgesamt 16 Schlüsselwerte untergliedert werden:

werte liste

Abb. Wertemodell ValCom® nach Erpenbeck, Sauter und Sauter (vgl. Erpenbeck, Sauter 2020)

Das Wertemodell wird für jeden einzelnen Wert mit jeweils vier beispielhaften Werteausprägungen, die in einem gemeinsamen Prozess mit erfahrenen Fach- und Führungskräften organisationsspezifisch formuliert werden, operationalisiert. Die angepassten Werteausprägungen bilden die Grundlage für die Fragen zur Erfassung der Werte durch die Software.

In vielen Organisationen gibt es bereits ausformulierte Werte oder Leitbilder, die breit kommuniziert sind. ValCom® ermöglicht es, die Zahl der Werte, die einzelnen Werte-Begriffe, die Werte-Definitionen sowie die Werte-Beispiele beliebig anzupassen, so dass vorhandene Wertemodelle problemlos integriert werden können.

3 Kommentare

Eine Antwort hinterlassen