Skip to main content

If you look at the various advertisements for skills management, you will see the entire range of topics in corporate learning, from knowledge to skills and qualifications to values and competences. Sometimes, however, skills management is explicitly equated with competence management, sometimes simply with the management of qualifications.

What are skills?

Obviously, there is no generally accepted definition of skills. The Duden distinguishes between Hard Skills than "purely professional qualifications" and Soft Skills as "competence in the interpersonal field, ability in dealing with other people". DeepL offers the following terms as a translation: Knowledge, skills, abilities, qualifications and competences, less frequently dexterity, skill, art, dexterity, manual dexterity and expertise.

A sensible definition of skills for corporate learning must be oriented towards company requirements. Corporate learning has the task of making employees fit for today's and tomorrow's challenges in the world of work. Therefore, skills are aimed at the employees' ability to act and the attitude required for this.

Skills enable employees to master the challenges of the work process in a self-organised manner. They presuppose knowledge and qualifications, but primarily require values and competences that are reflected in the attitude and ability to act of the employees.

Thus, the development of skills in an organisation includes both formal and informal learning. This results in the following definition of skills management.

What does skills management involve?

Skill management is a planned, controlled and systematic process with the aim of facilitating the development of the skills of employees and teams - from knowledge and qualifications to values and competences - in a self-organised manner so that the strategic corporate goals are achieved.

Skill management thus encompasses four areas of employee and team development:

  • KnowledgeIn the narrower sense, informational, technical and factual knowledge. In a broader sense, knowledge that is evaluated and related to subjective experiences, which includes rules, values, norms experiences emotions and motivations competences and experiences, but also emotions and motivations.
  • QualificationsThese are clearly defined complexes of knowledge in the narrower sense, skills and abilities that people must have when carrying out occupational activities in order to be able to act in accordance with requirements. They are action-centred and can usually be defined so clearly that they can be recorded in certification procedures outside the work processes, e.g. in examinations.
  • Values: Folders of self-organised action that provide motivation and orientation for employees. Thus they form the core of competencies, which is expressed in the attitude. According to Erpenbeck and Sauter, four value areas can be distinguished:
    • Enjoyment values: Action-guiding folders that make employees prefer actions that give them - physical or mental - pleasure, e.g. developing creative solutions.
    • Benefit values: Action-guiding folders according to which employees prefer actions that promise them benefits in the broadest sense, e.g. standard of living.
    • Ethical values: Folders that guide employees in their actions, making the well-being of many or all people, regardless of who they are, such as respectful behaviour, a concern for action.
    • Social values: Action-guiding folders that move individuals or teams to act in a socially accepted, legally compliant, optimal or innovative way.

There is no competent action without values, values constitute competent action. They can only be acquired through self-action and self-organisation.

  • Competences: Ability to cope with open and unmanageable complex and dynamic challenges, e.g. in professional practice, in a self-organised way. According to Heinrich Roth, four areas of competence can be distinguished:
    • Personal competences: Ability to act self-critically on the basis of values and with the inclusion of different perspectives.
    • Activity competences: Ability to implement agreed projects with a high degree of adaptability, even under difficult conditions.
    • Methodological competences: Ability to creatively master tasks that are initially difficult to solve in a self-organised manner with the necessary technical and methodological knowledge in combination with one's own experiential knowledge.
    • Social competences: Ability to work together conscientiously in a collegial and sensitive manner with sensitivity for the opinions, needs and feelings of others, to break down entrenched patterns of action and to actively contribute to conflict resolution.

Structured change process

The development of organisation-wide skills management therefore requires a structured change process, which primarily targets the following aspects:

  • From externally controlled teaching/learning concepts to self-organised skills development
  • From prescribing standardised educational offerings based on curricula to an enabling culture that promotes self-organised, personalised learning
  • From "teaching" in seminars and workshops to self-organised learning processes with individual value and competence goals at work.

This shifts the focus of workplace learning from knowledge and skills with practice and training to values and competences, to experiential and experiential learning, to social-emotional learning and reflection.

Together with our cooperation partner Dr Frank Edelkraut, mentus GmbH, we have developed a Future Skills model to prepare employees for the challenges of the future.

Do you want to check the extent to which your Future Skills are developed for the challenges of the future? Then register here:

Leave a Reply

Zum Hauptinhalt springen

Sichtet man die vielfältigen Anzeigen zum Skillmanagement, wird einem die gesamten Themenbreite des betrieblichen Lernens, vom Wissen über Fertigkeiten und Qualifikationen bis Werten und Kompetenzen, geboten. Manchmal wird Skillmanagement aber auch ausdrücklich mit Kompetenzmanagement, teilmal auch schlicht mit dem Management der Qualifikationen gleichgesetzt.

Was sind Skills?

Offensichtlich gibt es keine allgemein anerkannte Definition von Skills. Der Duden unterscheidet zwischen Hard Skills als „rein fachlichen Qualifikationen“ und Soft Skills als „Kompetenz im zwischenmenschlichen Bereich, Fähigkeit im Umgang mit anderen Menschen“. DeepL bietet als Übersetzung folgende Begriffe an: Kenntnisse, Fähigkeiten, Fertigkeiten, Können, Qualifikationen und Kompetenzen, seltener Geschicklichkeit, Kunstfertigkeit, Kunst, Gewandtheit, Handfertigkeit und Fachkönnen.

Eine sinnvolle Definition der Skills für das Corporate Learning muss sich an den betrieblichen Erfordernissen orientieren. Betriebliche Bildung hat die Aufgabe, die Mitarbeitenden für die heutigen und zukünftigen Herausforderungen in der Arbeitswelt fit zu machen. Deshalb zielen Skills auf die Handlungsfähigkeit und die dafür erforderliche Haltung der Mitarbeitenden.

Skills ermöglichen es den Mitarbeitenden, die Herausforderungen im Arbeitsprozess selbstorganisiert handlungsfähig zu meistern. Sie setzen Wissen und Qualifikation voraus, erfordern aber in erster Linie Werte und Kompetenzen, die sich in der Haltung und der Handlungsfähigkeit der Mitarbeitenden zeigen.

Damit umfasst die Entwicklung der Skills in einer Organisation sowohl formelles auch informelles Lernen. Daraus ergibt sich folgende Definition des Skillmanagement.

Was umfasst Skillmanagement?

Skillmanagement ist ein geplanter, gelenkter und systematischer Prozess mit dem Ziel, die Entwicklung der Skills der Mitarbeitenden und Teams– vom Wissen über Qualifikation bis zu Werten und Kompetenzen – selbstorganisiert zu ermöglichen, damit die strategischen Unternehmensziele erreicht werden.

Skillmanagement umfasst damit vier Bereiche der Entwicklung von Mitarbeitenden und Teams:

  • Wissen: Im engeren Sinne Informations-, Fach- und Sachwissen. Im weiteren Sinne bewertetes und mit subjektiven Erfahrungen in Beziehung gesetztes Wissen, das Regeln, Werte, Normen Erfahrungen Emotionen und Motivationen umfasst Kompetenzen und Erfahrungen, aber auch Emotionen und Motivationen.
  • Qualifikationen: Bezeichnen klar zu umreißende Komplexe von Wissen im engeren Sinne, Fertigkeiten und Fähigkeiten, über die Personen bei der Ausübung beruflicher Tätigkeiten verfügen müssen, um bedarfsgerecht handeln zu können. Sie sind handlungszentriert und in der Regel so eindeutig zu fassen, dass sie in Zertifizierungsprozeduren außerhalb der Arbeitsprozesse, z. B. in Prüfungen, erfasst werden können.
  • Werte: Ordner des selbstorganisierten Handelns, die den Mitarbeitenden Motivation und Orientierung geben. Damit bilden sie den Kern von Kompetenzen, der sich in der Haltung ausdrückt. Nach Erpenbeck und Sauter sind vier Wertebereiche zu unterscheiden:
    • Genusswerte: Handlungsleitende Ordner, die die Mitarbeitenden Handlungen bevorzugen lassen, die ihnen – physischen oder geistigen – Genuss verschaffen, z. B. kreative Lösungen entwickeln.
    • Nutzenwerte: Handlungsleitende Ordner, nach denen die Mitarbeitenden Handlungen präferieren, die ihnen Nutzen im weitesten Sinne, z. B. Lebensstandard, versprechen.
    • Ethische Werte: Handlungsleitende Ordner, die den Mitarbeitenden Handlungen nahelegen, die das Wohl vieler oder aller Menschen ohne Ansehen der Person, wie z.B. respektvolles Handeln, zum Handlungsanliegen machen.
    • Soziale Werte: Handlungsleitende Ordner, die Einzelne oder Teams zu einem sozial akzeptierten, rechtskonformen, optimalen oder innovativen Handeln bewegen.

Es gibt kein kompetentes Handeln ohne Werte, Werte konstitutieren kompetentes Handeln. Sie können nur selbst handelnd, selbstorganisiert angeeignet werden.

  • Kompetenzen: Fähigkeit, offene und unüberschaubare komplexe und dynamische Herausforderungen, z. B. in der beruflichen Praxis, selbstorganisiert zu bewältigen. Nach Heinrich Roth sind vier Kompetenzbereiche zu unterscheiden:
    • Personale Kompetenzen: Fähigkeit, selbstkritisch auf Basis von Werten und unter Einbeziehung verschiedener Sichtweisen zu handeln.
    • Aktivitätskompetenzen: Fähigkeit, vereinbarte Vorhaben auch unter schwierigen Bedingungen willensstark und aktiv mit hoher Anpassungsfähigkeit umsetzen zu können.
    • Methodische Kompetenzen: Fähigkeit, selbstorganisiert mit dem notwendigen Fach- und Methodenwissen in Verbindung mit eigenem Erfahrungswissen auch zunächst kaum lösbare Aufgaben kreativ bewältigen zu können.
    • Soziale Kompetenzen: Fähigkeit, kollegial und sensibel mit Gespür für Meinungen, Bedürfnisse und Gefühle anderer gewissenhaft zusammenzuarbeiten, verfestigte Handlungsmuster aufzubrechen und aktiv zur Konfliktlösung beizutragen.

Strukturierter Veränderungsprozess

Die Entwicklung eines organisationsweiten Skillmanagements erfordert deshalb einen strukturierten Veränderungsprozess, der vor allem auf folgende Aspekte zielt:

  • Von fremdgesteuerten Lehr-/Lernkonzepten zur selbstorganisierten Entwicklung der Skills
  • Von der Vorgabe standardisierter Bildungsangebote auf Basis von Curricula zu einer Ermöglichungskultur, die selbstorganisiertes, personalisiertes Lernen fördert
  • Von der „Vermittlung“ in Seminaren und Workshops zu selbstorganisierten Lernprozessen mit individuellen Werte- und Kompetenzzielen in der Arbeit.

Damit verlagern sich die Schwerpunkte des betrieblichen Lernens von Wissen und Qualifikation mit Übung und Training zu Werten und Kompetenzen, zum erfahrungs- und erlebnisorientierten Lernen, zu sozial-emotionalen Lernen und zur Reflektion.

Wir haben mit unserem Kooperationspartner Dr. Frank Edelkraut, mentus GmbH, ein Modell der Future Skills entwickelt, um die Mitarbeitenden auf die Herausforderungen der Zukunft vorzubereiten.

Wollen Sie überprüfen, inwieweit Ihre Future Skills für die zukünftigen Herausforderungen ausgeprägt sind? Dann melden Sie sich hier an:

Eine Antwort hinterlassen