Skip to main content

There is a strong consensus that the world of work, and therefore corporate learning, will not be the same after the Covid crisis. Our world will be even more unpredictable and uncertainty and complexity will continue to increase. The digital transformation will accelerate. Forms of work such as home office or e-learning formats will become more and more prevalent. Many meetings will be moved online. Employees therefore need future-oriented skills.

Knowledge, qualification and competence are often used synonymously in everyday language. Skills or soft skills, knowledge in the narrower sense, or qualifications are necessary prerequisites, but not the goal of staff development. Ultimately, what counts is the ability to cope with challenges in practice in a self-organised manner and to act effectively. In the German-speaking corporate sector, the concept of competence by Erpenbeck and Heyse (2007) has become the most widely accepted.

Competences

Competences are abilities to act creatively and self-organised in open, unmanageable, complex, dynamic and sometimes chaotic situations (Self-organisation dispositions).

soft skills

Fig. Competences - more than knowledge and qualification

Competence models

Competence models that build on this concept of competence are based on the Principle of self-organisation. Models designed in this way have a long-term character and can serve as a guideline for personalised learning processes of employees in an ever more dynamically changing world of work.

Competency models are catalogues of requirements for employees in which the abilities to act in order to provide services and solve problems can be recorded and explained in a way that everyone can understand.

In the professional field, an understanding of action competence has become established which can essentially be traced back to Heinrich Roth (1971). He defined "four ...basic skills - personal, activity-related, social and methodological - which have since formed an unchallenged social science basis. We have used this structure as the basis for our competence model, which we have derived from decades of practical experience.

Our ValCom competence model® comprises these four basic competences, each of which we have subdivided into four sub-competences with a consistent action orientation. This clear structure of 16 individual competences, which is based on Erpenbeck and Heyse (2007), effectively facilitates competence assessment and targeted competence development at all levels - organisation, team and staff.

kompetenzen

Fig. 2 ValCom competence model® according to Sauter, Sauter (2021) based on Erpenbeck, Heyse (2007)

Skills development

We adapt both the competence definitions and the action anchors used to describe the individual competences to the framework conditions, culture and language of the respective target group in workshops with experienced professionals and managers from the respective organisation, so that there is No comprehension problems more exist.

Our Competence capture software ValCom® also makes it possible to further develop existing competence models in organisations into professional recording systems with any number of competences and free choice of definitions and action anchors by administrators or learning facilitators.

Competences cannot be taught, e.g. in seminars, because they require the internalisation of emotions in real challenges. The Capacity building therefore happens in action, i.e. in work practice in the self-organised accomplishment of practical tasks or projects, Values serve as a folder for this action. Company learning concepts - corporate learning - must therefore change from externally controlled teaching concepts to learning concepts with the goal of Self-organised competence development transform.

Skip to main content

Es besteht große Einigkeit darüber, dass die Arbeitswelt und damit das Corporate Learning nach der Covid-Krise nicht mehr so sein wird, wie vorher. Unsere Welt wird noch unberechenbarer sein und die Unsicherheit sowie die Komplexität werden weiter zunehmen. Die digitale Transformation wird sich beschleunigen. Arbeitsformen wie Homeoffice oder E-Learning-Formate werden sich immer mehr durchsetzen. Viele Meetings werden ins Netz verlagert. Die Mitarbeitenden benötigen deshalb zukunftsorientierte Kompetenzen.

Wissen, Qualifikation und Kompetenz werden im alltäglichen Sprachgebrauch oftmals gleichbedeutend verwendet. Fertigkeiten oder Soft Skills, Wissen im engeren Sinne, oder Qualifikationen sind notwendige Voraussetzungen, jedoch nicht das Ziel der Mitarbeiterentwicklung. Letztendlich zählt die Fähigkeit, Herausforderungen in der Praxis selbstorganisiert zu bewältigen und effektiv zu handeln. Im deutschsprachigen Unternehmensbereich hat sich vor allem der Kompetenzbegriff von Erpenbeck und Heyse (2007) durchgesetzt.

Kompetenzen

Kompetenzen sind Fähigkeiten, in offenen, unüberschaubaren, komplexen, dynamischen und zuweilen chaotischen Situationen kreativ und selbstorganisiert zu handeln (Selbstorganisationsdispositionen).

soft skills

Abb. Kompetenzen – mehr als Wissen und Qualifikation

Kompetenzmodelle

Kompetenzmodelle, die auf diesem Kompetenzbegriff aufbauen, basieren auf dem Prinzip der Selbstorganisation. Modelle, die in diesem Sinne gestaltet werden, besitzen einen langfristigen Charakter und können als Leitlinie personalisierter Lernprozesse der Mitarbeitenden in einer sich immer dynamischer verändernden Arbeitswelt dienen.

Kompetenzmodelle sind Anforderungskataloge an die Mitarbeitenden, in denen die Handlungsfähigkeiten zur Leistungserbringung und Problemlösung erfassbar und für jeden verständlich erklärt sind.

Im beruflichen Bereich hat sich ein Verständnis von Handlungskompetenz etabliert, welches im Wesentlichen auf Heinrich Roth (1971) zurückgeführt werden kann. Von ihm wurden „vier …Grundkompetenzen – personale, aktivitätsbezogene, soziale und methodische –herausgearbeitet, die seither eine unwidersprochene sozialwissenschaftliche Grundlage bilden. Diese Struktur haben wir unserem Kompetenzmodell zugrunde gelegt, das wir auf Basis unserer jahrzehntelangen Praxiserfahrung abgeleitet haben.

Unser Kompetenzmodell ValCom® umfasst diese vier Basiskompetenzen, die wir jeweils in vier Teilkompetenzen mit konsequenter Handlungsorientierung untergliedert haben. Mit dieser überschaubaren Struktur von 16 Einzelkompetenzen, die sich an den Ausprägungen nach Erpenbeck und Heyse (2007) orientiert, wird die Kompetenzerfassung sowie die gezielte Kompetenzentwicklung auf allen Ebenen – Organisation, Team und Mitarbeitende –  wirksam ermöglicht.

kompetenzen

Abb. 2 Kompetenzmodell ValCom® nach Sauter, Sauter (2021) auf Basis von Erpenbeck, Heyse (2007)

Kompetenzentwicklung

Sowohl die Kompetenzdefinitionen als auch die Handlungsanker, mit denen die einzelnen Kompetenzen beschrieben werden, passen wir in Workshops mit erfahrenen Fach- und Führungskräften aus der jeweiligen Organisation auf die Rahmenbedingungen, die Kultur und die Sprache der jeweiligen Zielgruppe an, so dass es keine Verständnisprobleme mehr gibt.

Unsere Kompetenz-Erfassungssoftware ValCom® ermöglicht es zudem,  auch bereits vorhandene Kompetenzmodelle in Organisationen mit einer beliebigen Anzahl an Kompetenzen sowie freier Wahl der Definitionen und Handlungsanker durch Administrator*innen oder Lernbegleitende zu professionellen Erfassungssystemen weiter zu entwickeln.

Kompetenzen können nicht vermittelt werden, z. B. in Seminaren, weil sie die Verinnerlichung von Emotionen in realen Herausforderungen erfordern. Der Aufbau von Kompetenzen geschieht deshalb im Handeln, also in der Arbeitspraxis bei der selbstorganisierten Bewältigung von Praxisaufgaben oder -projekten, Werte dienen dabei als Ordner dieses Handelns. Die betrieblichen Lernkonzeptionen – Corporate Learning – müssen sich deshalb von fremdgesteuerten Lehrkonzepten zu Lernkonzeptionen mit dem Ziel der selbstorganisierten Kompetenzentwicklung wandeln.